Consisting of three novels centering on Stieg Larsson’s unique characters, Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomqvist, the Millennium Trilogy has earned critical acclaim and was recently produced as a film series. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the first novel in the trilogy, achieved publication in 2005, while the sequels The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest went to print in 2006 and 2007, respectively.

The fictional works echo Stieg Larsson’s complete aversion to sexual abuse, and revenge powers one of the strong female main characters, Lisbeth Salander. Salander deviates from the normal constructions of society and enters the story in the first book when journalist Mikael Blomqvist meets her while investigating a murder. Together, the pair works to uncover a mystery that mires them in a long line of complications. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo won several awards, and its publication aided Stieg Larsson in the process of becoming the first author to sell more than one million e-books on

In the second two parts of the trilogy, Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomqvist find themselves immersed in a dangerous lifestyle rife with murder. The reader slowly starts to learn more about vindictive Lisbeth Salander’s past as the two characters pursue justice. Critics and readers alike tout the Millennium Trilogy as one of the best modern works in the thriller and crime genres, and its crossover into the movie industry established The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest as international sensations. Stieg Larsson released the Millennium Trilogy posthumously, after a successful career as a magazine editor for the anti-racist Swedish magazine Expo. For more information about the Millennium Trilogy, visit Stieg Larsson’s website at